Tag Archive | "PETERITE HONOURS 2016"


List of Honouries at Peterite Honours Night 2016

Posted on 31 December 2016 by admin

 Peterite Honours Night – 2016

Peterite Honours CollageColombo, Sri Lanka – The Old Boys' Union of St. Peter's College had its Honours Night on Saturday, February 13, 2016, at the College Hall for the 6th time with a distinguished Old Peterite, Prof. Rohan Jayasekera as the Chief Guest. The OBU has been honouring members who have reached eminence in their chosen professions and in the field of sports thereby brining honour to their Alma Mater and the first time the Peterite OBU organised an Honours night was way back in 1984 during the presidency of Mr. Mano Chanmugam and 72 Old Peterites were honoured on that occasion. Since then four such Honours nights have been held in 1988, 1997, 2002 and 2006 at which 284 eminent Old Boys have been honoured.


The Chief Guest for the occasion, himself a proud product of St. Peter’s College, Prof. Rohan Jayasekara (MBBS; PhD (N’Cle. UK); C.Biol; FRSB (Lond); Hon. FCSSL) is the Emeritus Professor of Anatomy, Medical Geneticist, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo. He is a Fellow of the Galton Institute, London, aChartered Biologist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, London, an Honorary Fellow of the College of Surgeons of Sri Lanka, Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from the University of Ceylon, a Commonwealth Research Scholar, has a PhD in Cytogenetics from the Department of Human Genetics, University of Newcastle upon Tyne. UK. and much more.


At the conclusion of the opening ceremony that included the lighting of the traditional oil lamp, speeches by the President of the OBU, Mr. Romeish de Mel, the Rector of St. Peter’s College, Rev. Fr. Trevor Martin and the Chief Guest Prof. Rohan Jayasekara, Peterite Honours were awarded to 73 eminent Old Boys at this glittering night under 11 categories namely Medicine, Law, Higher Education, Armed Forces, Public Administration, Banking, Entrepreneurship, Trade & Commerce, Art, Horticulture, Sports. There were also 3 special awards presented to Emeritus Rector, Rev. Father Travis Gabriel and two others who had rendered long and loyal service (over 40 years) to St. Peter’s.


Among these recipients were 3 who were honoured posthumously while there were several who had come from Australia, Canada, England, USA and Oman. Upali Obeyesekere of Toronto was also one of the recipient in the "Trade & Commerce" Category.


The Honours award ceremony came to a close with the vote of thanks delivered by the Hony. General Secretary of the OBU and this was followed singing of the National Anthem and cocktails and fellowship for all present.


OBU St. Peters College, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka

15 February


Further to our earlier report on the Honours Night, at the request of many, particularly overseas fans, I give below the list of those who received Peterite Honours this year at the Honours Night held on 13th February.

Category Name


Dr. Noel Perin
Dr. Chrishantha Jude Jayamaha
Dr. Nielhaan Samaranayake (Posthumous)

Law Mr. Shavindra Fernando

Higher Education Mr. Aubrey Joachim

Armed Forces Dr. Nicholas Jayasekera

Public Administration

Mr. Suren Perera
Mr. Vijaya Paranahewa

Banking Mr. Rukshan Dias (Posthumous)


Dr. Ajith Perera
Mr. Lalith Seneviratne
Mr. Brian Ratnayake
Mr. Roshan Dharmaratne
Mr. Roshan Hettiarachchi
Mr. Russel Weerappah
Mr. Don Andrew Liyanage
Mr. S Rube Fernando
Mr. Namal Gomes
Mr. Sudath Perera
Mr. Dushantha Gunewardene
Mr. Marlon Fernando
Mr. Jerry Anderson
Mr. Ebert Silva (Posthumous)

Trade & Commerce

Mr. Dirk Pereira
Mr. Upali Obeyesekere (Canada)
Mr. Jude Fernando
Mr. Suraj Perera
Mr. Damitha Gomes
Mr. Rukmal Seneviratne
Mr. Nalin Jayasundera
Mr. Mahen Kariyawasan
Mr. Asela Lihinikaduwa
Mr. Harin Gunawardena
Mr. Quintus Perera
Mr. Amindra Wimalasena
Mr. Prasantha Wimalasena
Mr. Sanjeewa Abeygoonewardene
Mr. Sheron Fernando
Mr. Mahinda Saranapala
Mr. Nishantha Jayasooriya
Kevin Edwards
Mr. Sumedha Fernando
Mr. Anselm Perera
Mr. Misver Deane
Dr. Nirmal de Silva
Mr. Randy Roche
Mr. Aubrey Saverimuttu
Mr. Cedric Silva
Mr. Joachim Caspersz
Mr. Nishantha Seneviratne

Art Mr. Maxwell Crusz

Horticulture Mr. Mike Harridge

Athletics Mr. Ranil Jayawrdena
Basketball Mr. Christie Mariyathasan
Mr. Paul Newman
Mr. Panduka Ranasinghe
Cricket Mr. Ranmore Martinez
Mr. Angelo Perera
Mr. Andre Berenger
Mr. Srimantha Wijeyeratne
Hockey Mr. Shehan Fernando
Rugby Mr. Dimithra Guasekera
Mr. Rajeew Perera
Mr. Suhiru Anthony
Mr. Sharo Fernando 
Mr. Anuradha Herath
Mr. Sandun Herath
Mr. Lee Keegel
Mr. Ishan Noor
Mr. Dulaj Perera
Mr. Danushka Ranjan

Double International (Rugby and Basketball) 
Mr. Shenal Dias



Mr. Thangarajah Dineshkanthan

Special Awards

Rev. Fr. Travis Gabriel
Mr. Basil Dabare
Mr. Lal Perera


Algi Wijewickrema
Hony. General Secretary
St. Peter's College Old Boys' Union



























Comments Off on List of Honouries at Peterite Honours Night 2016

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: