Tag Archive | "OLD PETERITES"


Old Peterite’s Group of Pre-’70: Harold Jansz re-elected President for Year 2015/16

Posted on 13 June 2015 by admin

Pre 70s committee 2015

Standing – Left to Right: David Crusz. Hector Pietersz, Hilal Abdulla, Rodney Martenstyn, Ranjith de Silva, Mahinda Saranapala, Howard Daniels, Cyril Wijesena, Srinath Fernando, Anton Blake.

(Algi Wijewickrema was not present when this photo was taken. He is the hard working Senior Vice President, Old Peterites Group pf Pre-1970. Algi has strong administrative and communication skills that has helped the Pre-1970s Group to share their activities, mission and vision to the broader group who live overseas).

At the Annual General Meeting of the Old Peterite’s Group of Pre-1970 held recently at the Old Boys’ Union Lounge, Harold Jansz was unanimously re-elected President for the Year 2015/16.

The Patron & Rector Rev. Fr. Trevor Martin and President of the Old Boys’ Union Romeish de Mel graced the occasion.

Fr. Trevor Martin, in his address, outlined plans of action towards taking St. Peter’s College to a higher level of excellence in the areas of education, spirituality, sports and all extracurricular activities.

He expressed his appreciation for the group’s sponsorship of scholarships to needy students and was confident of their continued support.

Romeish de Mel, in his address, thanked the batch for their support extended to the OBU. Being the oldest batch, they were an example to the younger groups.

Harold Jansz thanked the members for re-electing him for a second term. He said that the main objective of the group was to bond members in a spirit of camaraderie and fellowship and also to assist the OBU in wherever possible in their activities.

He assured the members that the new committee will work towards providing more opportunities of fellowship and rekindling friendships.

He extended his gratitude to all members who had generously sponsored scholarships and the group’s flagship event, the Annual Christmas get- together and thanked them for their participation which helped in the success of all batch activities.

Notice from Malcom Atton, Hony General Secretary 2015-2016, The Old Peterites' Group of Pre 1970. informing the new Committee
The Old Peterites’ Group of Pre 1970
of the
St. Peter’s College Old Boys’ Union, Colombo 4

Patron Rector Rev.Fr. Trevor Martin
Vice Patrons Tim Andradi
Harindra Sirisena
General Committee 2015 – 2016

President Harold Jansz,(mb 0777328633)
Immediate Past-President Maj Jayantha Atapattu (Retd)
(mb 0777310434)
Senior Vice-President Algi Wijewickrema (mb 0772981330)
Vice-President Erajh Balasuriya (mb 0777313724)
Hony. General Secretary Malcolm Atton (mb 0777634590),
Hony. Treasurer Nihal Wijeratne (mb 0714018049)
Hony.Asst.Gen.Secretary Howard Daniels (mb 0773161601)
Hony. Asst. Treasurer Srinath Fernando (mb 0714945518)
Hilal Abdulla (mb 0777341999),
Anton Blake (mb 0777440125),
David Crusz (mb 0776261001,
Ranjith de Silva (mb 0770745773),
Rodney Martenstyn (mb 0755001628,
Hector Pietersz (mb 0777378607),
Mahinda Sarnapala (mb 0777261179).
Cyril Wijesena (mb 0776698693)

Hony. Auditor Cedric Silva

Adviser Harindra Sirisena (mb 77345967) Appointed by the Committee

Correspondence: Malcolm Atton,
Hony.General Secretary
Mobile 0777634590, Email: secypre70@yahoo.com

Malcolm Atton
Hony. General Secretary
11th June, 2015.



Comments Off on Old Peterite’s Group of Pre-’70: Harold Jansz re-elected President for Year 2015/16


Pre-70s Old Peterites group get-together was a total success

Posted on 27 April 2015 by admin

TRAVICEOld Peterites of the pre-seventies era got together at Randiya Hotel in Moratuwa on May 24th and had a rollicking time. The event was subsidized by the Pre-70s Group and a nominal charge of Rs. 1000 was levied to defray incidental costs associated with the event. It was a celebration of fellowship and camaraderie combined with a nostalgic reunion of Old Peterites living in Sri Lanka and abroad.

Harold Jansz, President of the Pre-70s Group, Malcolm Atton his able General Secretary, Eraj Fernando, Algi Wijewickrema, Retd. Major Jayantha Atapattu, former IGP Sri Lanka Police Chandra Fernando, Indra Cumaranatunga, Angelo Gooneratne, 60s Peterite Cricket captain Travice Fernando, and opening pair of the 60s Ravi Fernando & Adithiya de Silva were all at hand to boost the attendance. A special guest was Upali Obeyesekere, President of the joint Josphian-Peterite Alumni Association of Canada who was on holiday in Sri Lanka.

A splendid time was had by all!

A “Stag” get together of the “Old Peterites’ Group of Pre 1970” will be held on Sunday, 24th May, 2015 at Hotel Randiya, 389 Koralawella, Moratuwa, from 10.00 A.M onwards. A great opportunity once again to meet and greet fellow Peterites’ of the Pre 1970 era.

The cost of participation is Rs.1,000/- per person and includes a welcome drink, buffet lunch, limited local hard liquor and beer, chasers and bites. You are also welcome to bring your own liquor including beer, free of corkage. A token will be issued on Registration at the event for the buffet lunch.

The subsidy extended to participants is made possible thanks to the generous support received from our fellow Peterites’ at our annual get together held in November, 2014. As participation is subsidised you will appreciate if we restrict participation only to those old boys who left college in 1970 or prior to that.

We look forward to welcome many of you to the stag get together. Please register early through anyone of the committee members listed below.

Yours in fellowship,


Harold Jansz David Crusz

President (MB 0777328633) Chairman Events Sub Committee (MB 0776261001)



General Committee 2014-2015:-

President – Harold Jansz,

Immediate Past-President – Maj. Jayantha Atapattu (Retd)(mb 0777310434)

Senior Vice-President – Harindra Sirisena (mb 0777345967)

Vice-President – Algi Wijewickrema (mb 0767730441)

Hony. General Secretary – Malcolm Atton,(mb 0777634590),

Hony. Asst. Gen.Secretary – David Crus (mb 0776261001)

Hony. Treasurer – Nihal Wijeratne (mb 0714018049)

Hony. Asst. Treasurer – Srinath Fernando (mb 0714945518)

Committee Members – Hilal Abdulla (mb 0777341999), Erajh Balasuriya (mb 0777313724), Anton Blake (mb 0777440125), Howard Daniels (mb 0773161601, Ranjith de Silva (mb 0770745773), Stanley Lumanauw (mb 0777786726), Rodney Martenstyn (mb- 0755001628), Cyril Wijesena (mb 0776698693),

Hector Pietersz (mb 0777378607), Mahinda Sarnapala (mb 0777261179)

Correspondence: Malcolm Atton, Hony.General Secretary – Mobile 0777634590 email:secypre70@yahoo.com

Comments Off on Pre-70s Old Peterites group get-together was a total success

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: