Tag Archive | "PETERITES WIN"


St. Peter’s win first-ever schools U19 Double-Wicket tournament

Posted on 28 April 2015 by admin

St. Peter's beat St. Sebasitan's to emerge champions of the St. Benedict's schools invitation double wicket tournament played on Sunday at the St. Benedict's College grounds in Kotahena. The tournament was organised in connection with the 150th jubilee of St. Benedict's College.
The Peterite batting pair of Chandula Jayamanne, their captain this year and Dineth Thimodya made 37 and then restricted the Sebastianite pair Avishka and Mishen Fernando to 27.
On their way to the final the Petes beat the Thomians and the Sebastianites beat the Mazadonians.
Peterite batsman Dineth Thimodya was adjudged the best batsman while Avishka Fernando of St. Sebastian's was adjudged the best bowler.
Algi Wijewickrema – SPC OBU


The Old Benedictines Sports Club and St. Benedict’s College Cricket Wing came forward to jointly organize Sri Lanka’s first ever invitational Inter schools Under 19 “Double Wicket” tournament as their contribution towards the festivities of their “Alma – Mater”.

The tournament took place on the 25th & 26th April at St. Benedict’s College Grounds, Kotahena, patronized by Provincial Visitor, Rev. Bro. Denzil Perera FSC. The official draw was held on the day of the launch and it was as follows;


All Pre Quarter Finals :

St. Peters College, Bambalapitiya Vs. St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala

St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota Vs. St. Benedict’s College Kotahena

St. Aloysious College, Galle Vs. Royal College, Colombo.

St. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia Vs. St. John’s College, Jaffna.

St. Joseph’s College, Darley Road Vs. De Mazanod College, Kadana

St. Mary’s College, Chillaw Vs. Ananda College, Maradana

St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa Vs. Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa.

Zahira College, Maradana Vs. De La Salle College, Mutwal.


The concept of this tournament was follows:

Each team will field two players each for a match; will be conducted on a Knock-out format, consisting 15 matches during the course of 02 days; There will be 09 neutral players to do the fielding, for each match from a pool of 15 players, being picked by the Organizing Committee, namely from Lumbini Maha Vidyalaya, Moratu Maha Vidyalaya & Thurstan College.

The duration for a match will consist of 04 overs; 02 overs each bowled by one side (02 players), while the other side (02 players) will bat all the overs; there will be a penalty of 05 runs against the batting side, each time a batsman gets out.

Tournament got under way with the first match been played between St Peters College Bambalapitiya and St Annes College Kurunagala. Peters won that match easily and adavnced to the quarter finals. In the second match the hosts took on against St Anthony’s College Katugasthota. Bens won the match by 29 runs. Royal College Colombo thrashed St Aloysius College Galle to earn their place at the quarter finals. S Thomas's College Mount Lavinia edged past St Johns College Jaffna in their PreQuater Finals while St Joseph’s College lost to De Mazenod College Kadana by 1 run in a nail biting encounter. St Sebastian’s College Moratuwa played agaisnt their arch rivals Prince of Wales and managed to win by 5 runs. The final Pre Quater final was played between Zahira College Maradana and De La Salle College Mutuwal. Zahira came on top and secured the final spot in the quarter finals.

Quarter finals took place on the second day. The hosts took on St Peters College in the first quarter final. It was a close match but ultimately St Peters came on top by only 3 runs. Second quarter final was between Royal College and S Thomas's College which saw the former beating their arch rivals by 4 runs in nail biting encounter. Ananda College after being given a walk over in their pre quarter finals, failed to make use of that chance when they met De Mazenod College in the quarter finals. De Mazenod winning by 10 runs sealed a spot in semi finals. Final quarter final was between the strong St Sebastian’s College and Zahira College. St Sebastian’s thrashed Zahira Collegeand claimed 37 run victory.

Four schools sealed their places in the semi finals. St Peters College took on S Thomas's College in the first semi final where the Peterites managed to score 41 runs in their four overs. The Thomians only managed to score 23 runs in their four overs giving St Peters College an easy win and a place in the final. The second semi final was played between St Sebastian’s College and De Mazenod College. De Mazenod batted first and scored 29 runs in their quota of four overs. It wasn't enough at the end when St Sebastian’s chased it down with ease. St Peters College and St Sebastian’s College rightfully earned their places in the final

The final was a hard fought match. St Peters College batted first and scored 37 runs which was an average score. St Sebastian’s were doing it easy as they scored runs easily. In the final over they only needed 15 runs. They manage to score boundaries off the first two balls but the Peterites managed to pull them back by taking wickets and finally restricting them for just 26 runs. Both teams played really well right throughout the tournament, at the end of the day St Peters College emerged champions in the first ever double wicket tournament. Dineth Thimodya yet again did his bit for his school and was named best bastman of the tournament. Avishka Fernando of St Sebastian’s College was given the best bowlers award for his figures of 5 for 17 runs. Savith Dilshan of Moratuwa Vidyalaya was named best fielder for his work behind the stumps.




Comments Off on St. Peter’s win first-ever schools U19 Double-Wicket tournament



Taneesha Weerakoon spins St Peter’s to sixth outright win

Posted on 18 February 2015 by admin

SPC TEAM 2015An impressive match bag of 11 for 64 by right arm spinner Taneesha Weerakoon helped St Peter’s to record an innings and 36 runs win over Dharmasoka MV Ambalangoda in the Under 19 inter-school cricket encounter concluded at Surrey Village ground, Maggona yesterday.

St Peter’s having ended on top on day one continued their dominance as they declared on the overnight score of 241 for 9 in reply to the Sokians 105.

Dharmasoka MV batting the second time with a deficit of 136 runs fared no better as Taneesha who ended with figures of 6 for 30 and Ashan Malka supporting him with a four wicket haul combined to bowl the Sokians out for 100. This was  their sixth outright win of the season.


  • Dharmasoka MV Ambalangoda 105 (Sachin Divangana 33: Randel Seneviratne 5 for 29, Taneesha Weerakoon 5 for 34) and 100 (Kaveesha Kumara 25, Ishara Mendis 20: Taneesha Weerakoon 6 for 30, Ashanth Malka 4 for 40)
  • St Peter’s 241 for 9 declared (Hashan Wanasekera 74, Sachin Dalpathadu 69, Didulana Medis 24: Anjana Mawan 4 for 42)

Comments Off on Taneesha Weerakoon spins St Peter’s to sixth outright win

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: