Categorized | Sports

80th Battle of the Saints between St.Joseph’s College vs St.Peter’s College

Posted on 06 December 2016 by admin


Article by Ranjan Anandappa (Sunday Observer)

Blast from the past

The 80th annual cricket encounter between St.Joseph's College and St.Peter's College which is also known as the 'Battle of the Saints' played for the Rev .Fr. Maurice Legoc Trophy will herald another series of 'big' encounters among schools. This match will be played on March 7th and 8th (2014) at the P. Sara Oval commencing at 9.30 am each day. 


Both teams have taken a decision, like in the recent past to restrict the number of overs for 60 only in the first innings which has made a huge difference in the outcome of the game. With the restriction of the first innings to 60 overs system, it has made the match more interesting and result oriented. 


During the past six encounters there have been results on three occasions. In the overall 79 big match series between the two schools, St.Joseph's have won 20 to the Peterites 17. The Joes last won in 2013 under Sachin Hewawasam and the Peterites last savoured a win in 2012 under under Shehan Fernando. 

The two teams seem to be on par with an unbeaten record, this season with the Joes winning three matches outright and the Peterites winning two. For the Bambalapitiya school, Dineth Thimodya with 1000 runs including two centuries against D.S. Senanayake and Ananda and skipper Kavinda de Tissera (762 runs) also with two centuries and deputy Janith Liyanage (763) with a hundred have done the bulk of the scoring. 


Among the bowlers, Sahan Nanayakkara has captured over 85 wickets with his left-arm leg-spin and ably supported by off-spinner Vini Mohotty who has taken 42 wickets. Vice Captain Janith Liyanage, besides his batting, has taken over 30 wickets with his medium pace.For the Joes skipper Dylan Fernandopulle has been the highest scorer (659) with a top-score of 90. Middle order batsman Pathum Madusanaka is their sole centurion (107). 


St.Joseph's were without the services of two of their key players Sadeera Samarawickrema and Priyamal Perera who were most of the time out with the under 19 team representing the country at the Under 19 Asia Cup and later the Under 19 World Cup played in Dubai. 

Priyamal Perera, in the seven matches he played for his school, has made 394 runs with four fifties and Samarawickrema in his seven matches, had scored 155 runs. Both, Samarawickrema and Perera will be available for their 'Big' encounter and their inclusion should make the Joes a stronger outfit while meeting their traditional rivals.. 


The Joes will heavily depend on the spin of Aravinda Akurugoda who has taken over 40 wickets and Priyamal Perera with 26 wickets. Malshan Rodrigo and Hashindra Perera both with 29 wickets apiece should form an effective spin combination. 


The highest individual score in the series is by former Peterite and Leicestershire professional Clive Inman who struck an unbeaten 204 in 1954.

For the Joes, Hareen Silva scored an unbeaten 141 in the 2009 big match. Under the leadership of Kitto Fernandopulle in 1979, left hander Rohan Buultjens hit twin unbeaten hundreds (109 in the 1st innings and 100 n.o in the 2nd innings) a unique achievement difficult to surpass. 


Josephian Shenal Warnakula holds the record for the best individual bowling effort. In the 1997 encounter Warnakula took 9 for 41, surpassing Peterite Dion Walles' 9 for 53 in 1947. Peterite Cyril Dias also took 9 for 64 wickets in an innings in 1933. Peterites Dinesh Kekulthota (8 for 16 in 1990) and Gerald Solomons also from Peter's had the bowling fiogures of 7 for 43 in the 1973 encounter.

Besides Warnakula's 9 for 41, Rajive Benedict 8 for 6 in 1972 and Ranjith Malawana 8 for 57 in 1957 are notable bowling performances for the Josephians. 



St. Peter's College: Kavinda de Tissera (Captain), Janith Liyanage (V.Captain), Chemila Obeysekera, Sahan Nanayakkara, Dineth Thimodya, Hashan Upendra, Oshan Karunaratne, (WK), Sanjula Madushan, Naveen Dharshana, Sachin Dalpadado, Thanishka Weerakoon, Chadula Jayamanne, Savin Gunasekera, Dedulana Medis, Manelka de Silva, Vinu Mohaotty, Lakshina Rodrigo.

St.Joseph's College: Dylan Fernandopulle (Captain), Priyamal Perera, (V.Captain) Sadeera Samarawickrema, Duran de Alwis, Nirvana Abeysekera, Yashan Samarasinghe, Pathum Madusanka, Fabian Fernando, Trishan Thanuja, Aravinda Akurugoda, Shamii Seneviratne, Hasindra Perera, Kalpa Ravihara(WK), Malshan Rodrigo, Brian Jayamanne, Sandaruwan Rodrigo and Vimukthi Peiris.






The annual Josephian-Peterite big match media conference was held yesterday at the St. Joseph’s Auditorium in Darley Road. The two day match is set to be played on the 07th & 08th March 2014 at the P.Sara Stadium (Oval) Colombo starting 09.30 a.m.

St. Joseph’s College rector Rev.Fr. Travis Gabriel addressing  the media  stated that this event will build a strong bond, friendship and unity as a one catholic family which will be the salient feature of this big event played for the Rev. Fr. Mourice Le-goc memorial trophy.

This year too there will be only 60 overs per team in the first innings of play and a maximum of 105 overs to be bowled at the end of day one. 

The tally thus far is St. Joseph’s have won 12 matches as their last win was in 2008 under Ruwantha Fernandopulle and St. Peter’s have won just 09 and their last win was under Shehan Fernando in 2012.

It was also announced that Mr. Asoka Jayamanne who was the Joes captain in 1988 will be the chief guest.

The 40th Joe-Pete limited over match will be played for the Rev. Fr. Peter A. Pillai Memorial challenge shield in the following week which will be at the Kettarama Stadium on 15th March 2014 at 09.30 a.m.

Once again Joes leads the overall tally winning 20 to Pete’s 17 in the 50 over format of the game.

Mr. Niranjan Rodrigo, the Peterite captain in 1982 will be the chief guest for this one day encounter.

The main sponsor and co-sponsors are to be announced in the future.

Rev. Fr. Trevor Martin rector of St. Peter’s said that this is the time for all the Peterites and Joes to combine for the biggest get together in the year. In addition the old boys who live overseas of both colleges are expected in numbers at the R.Premadasa Stadium to show their bond and utmost passion for the respective colleges.

A cycle parade and a vehicle parade is usually organized by both schools on the day of the ODI fixture and this year too both schools are in the process of organizing it in a huge way. will be live streaming the 80th Battle of the Saints and stay tuned for previews, reviews and in sites of the both teams.

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: