Categorized | Daily News, Sports

Peterites – a force to be reckoned with in school rugby

Posted on 09 June 2014 by admin

Peterite Rugby Team 2014St. Peter's College , a school with a proud rugby history with a star studded line up are confident of performing well in the Singer inter school under 20 'A' division league rugby tournament.

Their main target is the 'A' division league title and already they have recorded victories against several heavyweights in the Schools rugby arena including Science (27-22), S.Thomas' (44-12), Dharmaraja (47-15), St.Anthony's (32-17), St. Joseph's (16-11) and held formidable Kingswood College Kandy to a 14 all draw. But they suffered a 5 – 18 defeat at the hands of Royal College Colombo last week.z_p24-Peterites04.jpg

The Peterite rugby renaissance began in 2005 when led by Sajith Adikari, they clinched the Milo knockout Championship by overcoming Kingswood.

In the following year(2006) led by Number Eight Haren Ariyawardena, the Peterites had a superb season clinching the rugby double, the Singer League and the Milo Knockout Tournament.

In 2007, led by Scrum-Half Ranuka Jayasinghe, the Peterites were the undisputed champions remaining unbeaten and bagging both the Singer A division league and Milo Knockout tournament.

Three years later(2010) led by Number Eight Keith Gurusinghe, they clinched the Singer league title and were adjudged joint Milo Knockout Champions with Royal when the final was not played due to a court injunction.The man who brought about this remarkable change in Peterite fortunes was none other than Sanath Martis, a rugby coach par excellence, who went onto become Sri Lanka under 19 coach.

St.Peter's College which took to rugby in 1932 has produced several players who have represented Sri Lanka with distinction Nizar Hadji Omar, Angelo Wickremeratne and Dilanka Wijesekara went onto captain Sri Lanka.

Didacus de Almeida, Royden de Silva, Darrel Wimalaratne, Hamzi Hameed, Desmond Harridge, Jeffrey de Jong, Jeyer Rodriguesz, Maurice de Silva, Rohan Abeysundera, Len de Silva, Graham Raux, Thushara Jayalath. went onto represent Sri Lanka with distinction.

In recent years, players of the calibre of Leonard de Zilwa, Sandun Herath, Dhanushka Ranjan, Shenal Dias, Sayuru Anthony, Keith Gurusinghe, Ishan Noor, Mohamed Sheriff and Rajiv Perera have donned the Sri Lanka jersey bringing honour and fame to the Bambalapitiya School.

Thushan Jayasuriya – Courtesy: Daily News

St.Peter's College have retained the services of several senior players including skipper Shenal Aponso, Kevin Dickson, Nishon Perera, Steve Dharmaratne, Shallon Direckze, Frank Roger, Shamry Burah, Udara Anjana.

Leading the Peterites is third year player Shenal Aponso, a fine hooker and excellent player in the loose.

The First choice for the prop forwards berth will be Udara Anjana , the other players who could fit into this position are Roshen Rajapaksa, Gihan Fernando , Rahal Delpechitra, Nishanthan Bhaskar and Hareen Biyanwila. Skipper Shenal Aponso will play in his pet position as hooker with Raveen Yapa, Kusal Ravinatha and Yohan Jason.

z_p24-Peterites01.jpgMaleesha Rajapaksa, Shehan Mark de Silva and Dilshan Fonseka will be eyeing the lock forwards berths. Deputy skipper Nishon Perera, who is another talented player in the team is the first choice among the flankers. Ranith Silva, Shane Gurusinghe and Sajith de Saram are the others to assist him.

z_p24-Peterites03.jpgFrank Roger , an enthusiastic player will play as the Number eight with Hasindu Fernando while seasoned Steve Dharmaratne and Ramal Fernando will battle it out for the scrum halves berth. Experienced Shamry Burah, who has contributed a lot to Peterites success, will play as fly half with Sandesh Jayawickrama also eyeing this berth.

Avishka Ranasinghe, Ramesh Fernando, Deshan Fernando and Luke Lakshan will battle it out for the Centre three quarter berths.

The battle hardened Shallon Direckze will support the side by playing as winger with Diyath Fernando and Harshana Peiris. Kevin Dickson, a superb runner who scored a hat-trick of tries against S.Thomas'will occupy the last line of defence.

Kamesh Fernando is the other player who could fit into this position.

Former St.Peter's, Havelocks and Sri Lanka under 20 ruggerite Colin Denish, who captained the school in 1989 has taken over the responsibility of building up of the team.

He is confident that the boys will perform better this time and they would regain their lost prestige.

z_p24-Peterites02.jpgThe team gets the fullest support of Rector Rev.Fr Trevor Martin, Sports Coordinator Rev.Fr Shyam Dassanayake, Master-In-Charge Sunil Aponso, Assistant Coaches Thusitha Peiris and Rajiv Perera(u-18), Manager Mahesh de Silva, Trainer Benedict Perera, Physical Trainer Viraj Jayakody and Team Physician Dr.Clive C.James.

St.Peter's under 20 Rugby Squad

Prop Forwards : Udara Anjana, Roshen Rajapaksa, Gihan Fernando, Rahal Delpechitra, Nishanthan Bhaskar and Hareen Biyanwila.

Hookers : Shenal Aponso(Captain), Raveen Yapa, Kusal Ravinatha, Yohan Jason.

Lock Forwards : Maleesha Rajapaksa, Shehan Mark de Silva, Dilshan Fonseka.

Flankers : Nishon Perera(Vice Captain), Ranith Silva, Shane Gunasinghe, Sajith Seram.

Number Eight : Frank Roger, Hasindu Fernando.

Scrum-Halves : Steve Dharmaratne, Ramal Fernando.

Fly-Halves: Shamry Burah, Sandesh Jayawickrama.

Centres : Avishka Ranasinghe, Ramesh Fernando, Deshan Fernando and Luke Lakshan.

Wingers : Shallon Direckze, Diyath Fernando and Harshana Peiris.

Full backs : Kevin Dickson(Vice Captain) and Kamesh Fernando.







– See more at:

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: