Tag Archive | "U-17 CRICKET SPC"



Peterite Manelka de Silva excels for Western Province South

Posted on 29 July 2014 by admin


THE ISLAND July 23, 2014, 10:40 pm by Reemus Fernando
WPWestern Province South emerged champions of the SLC conducted Inter Provincial Under-17 two-day tournament at the MCA Ground on Wednesday. (Pic by Nishendra Silva)
Western Province South, captained by S. Thomas’ College player Ravindu Thilakaratne, won the SLC conducted Inter Provincial Under-17 two-day tournament with a first-innings victory over Central-North in the final, as they posted 389 runs in reply to their opponents’ 242 at the MCA Ground, Colombo on Wednesday.

In contrast to Central-North’s solitary half-century scored by skipper Raveen Sayer, three batsmen, namely, Himasha Liyanage, Manelka de Silva and Kusal Lakthilina, topped 70 runs for WP South. They batted for 89 overs, effectively closing the door for any comebacks by Central-North in the second innings.

Lakthilina was the mainstay in the extended afternoon session (lasting until they were bowled out around 4.00 p.m.), as he top-scored with 90 runs. St. Sebastian’s batsman scored 11 fours and two sixes in his 108-ball knock.

While Peterite Manelka de Silva hogged the limelight, hammering 84 runs inclusive of nine fours and four sixes, overnight batsman Himasha Liyanage scored 72. The Dharmapala College batsman faced just 64 balls for his knock which included 10 fours and three sixes.

For Central-North, the off-spin leg-spin combination of Sayer and Venuka Galahitiyawa (Dharmaraja), accounted for eight wickets.

In this tournament, SLC introduced two-day format for the U-17 age category for the first time. The tournament featured players who are eligible to play in the 2015 Youth World Cup.



  • Best Batsman of the Tournament: Vishad Randika (Combined XI)
  • Best Bowler of the Tournament: Suresh Kumara (Southern)
  • Best Fielder of the Tournament: Avishka Fernando (WP South)
  • Best All-rounder of the Tournament: Damith Silva (Central-North)
  • Best Batsman of the Final: Raveen Sayer (Central-North)
  • Best Bowler of the Final: Senal de Silva (WP South)
  • Best Fielder of the Final: Avishka Fernando (WP South)
  • Man of the Match in the Final: Manelka de Silva (WP South)


Central-North 242 all out in 79.4 overs (Raveen Sayer 85, Naveen Ekanayake 42, Miohidum Weerasinghe 30, Damith Silva 27; Senal de Silva 3/31, Thilan Nimesh 2/49, Ravindu Thilakaratne 2/47)

WP South (80 for no loss o/n) 389 all out in 88.5 overs (Rashmika Opatha 36, Himasha Liyanage 72, Avishka Fernando 33, Manelka de Silva 84, Kusal Lakthilina 90, Lakshina Rodrigo 40; Wenuka Galahitiyawa 4/85, Raveen Sayer 4/84).

Comments Off on Peterite Manelka de Silva excels for Western Province South

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: