Tag Archive | "PETERITES WIN U-14 TITLE"


Peterites win U-15 Division-1 Inter-School Cricket title

Posted on 12 December 2013 by admin

Champion Peterite cricketers richly rewarded. The Under 15 division one schools cricket champions St. Peter's College have been granted a tour of Malaysia by the school authorities under the guidance Rev. Fr. Trevis Gabriel, St. Peter's Rector. The team led by Chathura Obeysekara leave the country today (12). Wasantha Haputhanthri, master-in-charge, and L.H. Sunil, head coach, will accompany the cricketers. St. Peter's Under 15 will play two matches against Malaysian sides during the tour.

~~Superb bowling performance by Manelka de Silva (two for 27), Gishan Rodrigo (two for 11), Chathura Obeysekara (two for 34) enabled St.Peter's College, Colombo to prove their supremacy once again when they beat Richmond College Galle by a run in the inter-schools under 15 division one cricket final played at P. Sara Oval yesterday.

This is St.Peter's College's fourth win in the tournament having won three out of the last five editions since 2008.

The Peterites who bat first, scored 194 at the end of the 50 overs. Ranul Perera (45), Anishka Perera (58) Dinuja Peiris (39) top scored for Colombo lads. Avindu Theekshana(two for 14) and Kamindu Mendis (two for 32) captured two wickets each.

Richmond College, who were chasing a target of 195, barely missed the championship as they were all out in 193 runs. The sparkling knock of 84 runs by Hasaru Chamikara was in vain as Richmondite innings started to collapse after they missed their fifth wicket at 146.

Duvin Kalansuriya (26) and Avindu Theekshana (20) was a bit consolation for the lads from Galle. Silva, Rodrigo and Obeysekara were the most impressive amongthe Peterite bowlers.

St.Peter's : 194 in 50 overs (Ranul Perera 45, Anishka Perera 58, Dinuja Peiris 39, Avindu Theekshana 2/14, Kamindu Mendis 2/32)

Richmond : 193 in 49.1 overs (Hasaru Chamikara 84, Duvin Kalansuriya 26, Avindu Theekshana 20, Manelka de Silva 2/27, Gishan Rodrigo 2/11, Chathura Obeysekara 2/34)

Comments Off on Peterites win U-15 Division-1 Inter-School Cricket title

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: