SPC XI 2012


Prospects of bright cricket a possibility at 78th Joe-Pete encounter

Posted on 08 January 2014 by admin

Courtesy: Ranjan Anandappa – Sunday Observer of February 26, 2012.

Two 'big' match wins within the space of three years in the Josephian-Peterite series, is certainly heartening for the cricketers who play their 78th encounter at the P. Sara Oval on March 2 and 3 and the hope of bright cricket will certainly bring in the crowds at this battle of the saints. The new playing conditions which ware introduced in year 2000 has made the contest much more interesting and a result-oriented one. Both schools have stuck to that system this year too. Only the first innings of both sides have been limited to 60 overs without any other restrictions of bowlers or fielders. The second innings is played as usual without any barriers.

St.Joseph's last won in 2008 under Ruwantha Fernandopulle and two years later in 2010 St. Peter's came back strongly to beat their traditional rivals under all-rounder Chathura Peiris to make the tally 12 wins by the Joes to 8 by the Peterites in the 77-year old history of the 'big match' series.

The Peterites will heavily depend on their top-order batting spearheaded by their skipper and opener Shehan Fernando who has topped the 1,000 run mark for the season. He has two centuries and seven 50's against his name. Skipper Shehan is partnered by the other Fernando Shaseen these two have done the bulk of the scoring for the Peterites. Besides Shehan reaching the 1000-run mark, Shaseen has topped the 800-run mark with a century and six fifties. These two will be followed by wicket-keeper Lahiru Milantha who also has over 800-runs against his name with three hundreds and should form the nucleus of the Peterite side. In bowling,

Peterite left-arm leg-spinner Julien de Silva who has captured over 70 wickets, opening bowler Ranitha Liyanaarachchi (35 wickets) and spinner Dushan Hemantha are their promising bowlers. Middle-order batting suspect The Peterites are concerned about their middle order batting which has not lived up to expectations. The Peterites have to rely heavily on their top order which has done a exceptionally good job. They fervently hope that the middle order will prosper in this 'big' encounter so that they could build on the early batting successes.

The Petes have played 16 matches and have defeated Wesley, Dharmapala and St. Aloysius outright and they have lost to Prince of Wales. With the medium placemen of either side not making much of an impact this season, it will be left to the spinners to play the prominent role in this encounter.

The Josephians with their balanced outfit in both departments of the game has remained unbeaten this season. The Joes skipper wicket-keeper and opening batsman Vidusha Fernando has led his side well this season, scoring over 550 runs with a century against St. Sebastian's, Moratuwa. He will be partnered by Dylon Fernandopulle and followed by number three Sadeera Samarawickrema who has been the top scorer, getting over 700 runs inclusive of a century.

The Joes middle order seems to be more stable with Sachin Hewawasam and the bowlers Asiri Supekshala, Priyamal Perera, Yashan Samarasinghe and Fabian Fernando all capable of chipping in when required to pile on the runs.

Clive Inman top score of 204 The highest individual score still stands for 58 years where Clive Inman, an old Peterite, Leicestershire and former Ceylon player struck an unbeaten 204 in 1954. Another Peterite and Test player Malinda Warnapura scored 159 in the 1998 encounter. For the Joes, Hareen Perera became the highest individual scorer with an unbeaten 141 in 2009 while the present Sri Lanka ODI player Dimuth Karunaratne struck 131 in 2007. Joe's Shenal Warnakula 9 for 41 The bowling record in the series is held by Josephian Shenal Warnakula ( 9 for 41) in 1997. Peterite Dion Walles too had captured 9 for 53 in 1947 and prior to that another Peterite Cyril Dias had the figures of 9 for 64) in 1933.

Teams: ST.JOSEPH'S COLLEGE: (from) Vidusha Jayasinghe (Captain), Dylon Fernandopulle, Sadeera Samarawickrema, Sachin Hewawasam, Asiri Supekshala, Priyamal Perera, Yashan Samarasinghe, Fabian Fernando, Shivane Allirajah, Dishan Dissanayake, Pathum Wickremasinghe and Dinal Fonseka.

ST.PETER'S COLLEGE: (from) Shehan Fernando (Captain), Shaseen Fernando, Lahiru Milantha (WK), Janitha Liyanage, Kavinda Tissera, Dushan Hemantha, Julien de Silva, Ranitha Liyanaarachie , Ali Khan, Udaka Galhena, Thanusha Jayawardena, Jason Buultjens, Dinith Hewathanthri.

SJC XI 2012ST.JOSEPH’S: seated (from left) Prashantha Ranaweera (Master-in-Charge), Dilshan Fonseka (Physical Trainer), Vidusha Jayasinghe (Captain), Rev.Fr. Sylvester Ranasinghe (Rector), Rev.Fr.Samith Rangana (P.O.G), Supekshala Jayatileka, (Vice- Captain), Susilough de S. Wijeratne (Cricket Manager) and Dilan Ramanayake(Coach). Standing 2nd Row (From left):. Sachin Hewawasam, Dylan Fernandopulle, Shivane Allirajah, Angelo Rodrigues, Sadheera Samarawickrema, Rajindu Rodrigo, Pathum Madusanka, Priyamal Perera and Yashan Samarasinghe.3rd row: (From left). Fabian Fernando, Suren de Silva, Dinal Fonseka, Arvindh Fernando, Shehan Perera, Nishitha Perera, Dishan Dissanayake and Damith Weerasinghe.

SPC XI 2012ST.PETER’S seated (from left): Piyal Salgado (Assistant coach), Kitto Fernandopulle (Asst. Coach), Kirthie Gunarathne (Head coach), Rev. Fr.Lakmin Prasanga Silva (Sports Coordinator), Shehan Fernando (Captain), Rev.Fr.Travis Gabriel (Rector), Dushan Hemantha (V.Captain), Wasantha Haputhanthri (Master-in-Charge), Sanath Chinthaka (Asst.Master-in-Charge), Shanaka Prasad Fernando (Fielding Coach), Mahesh de Silva (Manager) Standing (from left – 1st row): Shaseen Fernando, Kavinda de Tissera, Lahiru Milantha, Ali Khan, Ranitha Liyanarachchi, Jason Buultjens, Thanusha Jayawardena, Udaka Galhena and Julien de Zilva.Standing (from left: 2nd row): Chenura Obeysekera, Gayan de Silva, Dineth Hewathanthri, Chaturanga Rajapaksha, Janith Liyanage and Chemila Obeysekera.

Comments Off on Prospects of bright cricket a possibility at 78th Joe-Pete encounter

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: