Tag Archive | "Clive Inman"


Clive Inman led the winning Peterite team in 1955

Posted on 17 September 2015 by admin

Clive Inman is a name that rings many bells for cricket in Ceylon and for all Peterites who went through the hallowed hallways of the Bambalapitiya school – St. Peter's College. Inman was a prodigy who still holds the highest score of 204 n.o. in the big match that began in 1933, 82 years back. In 1955, Clive Inman captained a stad-studded team that included Maurice Salgado, Brian de Silva (WK), Ken Duckworth, Jayantha Fernando, R. Saravanabhavan, Russel Duckworth, Maurice de Silva, Roy Jayasinghe, Lakshman Serasinghe, and Peter Ludowyke. Batting first, the Josephians led by Mahinda de Silva scored 117 runs and the top order batsmen were mesmerized by the medium-pace swing bowling of Maurice Salgado who took 5 for 18 runs. In reply the Peterites did well to batter the Josephian bowling to amass a score of 224 runs. Opener Brian de Silva, 79, Lakshman Serasinghe, 35, Clive Inman, 25, were the top scorers. Josephian opening bowler Tony Buhar took 4 for 31 while Malcolm Berenger spun hiw way to grab 3 for 81. In the 2nd innings the Joes fared slightly better scoring 150 runs helped by Kirthi Caldera, 52, and skipper Mahinda de Silva, 37. Maurice Salgado was once again in form taking 4 for 29 while skipper Inman bowled cleverly taking 5 for 36. Needing 44 runs to win the Peterites knocked the deficit with the loss of 2 wickets to win the 22nd Joe-Pete match played at the Colombo Oval on the 25th & 26th March, 1955.

The team photo is invaluable. Probably one of the few in the archives with Clive Inman. Seated from L to R: Brian de Silva (WK), Not Known, Clive Inman, Rev. Fr Basil Wiratunga, Maurice Salgado, Not Known, Ken Duckworth – Standing from L to R: Roy Jayasinghe, Maurice de Silva, Russel Duckworth, Lakshman Serasinghe, Peter Ludowyke, R. Saravanabhavan, Brian Seneviratne and Jayantha Fernando.






Comments Off on Clive Inman led the winning Peterite team in 1955

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: