Tag Archive | "80TH JOE-PETE"


80th Josephian-Peterite Encounter on March 7th & 8th, 2014, at the Colombo Oval

Posted on 07 March 2014 by admin

Restriction clause makes game somewhat interesting…: Joes and Petes out for decision.

The 80th annual cricket encounter between St.Joseph's College and St.Peter's College, also known as the 'Battle of the Saints' played for the Rev .Fr. Maurice Legoc Trophy will herald another series of 'big' encounters among schools. This match will be played on March 7th and 8th at the P. Sara Oval commencing at 9.30 am each day.

Both teams have taken a decision, like in the recent past to restrict the number of overs for 60 only in the first innings which has made a huge difference in the outcome of the game. With the restriction of the first innings to 60 overs system, it has made the match more interesting and result oriented. During the past six encounters there have been results on three occasions.

In the overall 79 big match series between the two schools, St.Joseph's have won 20 to the Peterites 17. The Joes last won in 2013 under Sachin Hewawasam and the Peterites last savoured a win in 2012 under under Shehan Fernando. The two teams seem to be on par with an unbeaten record, this season with the Joes winning three matches outright and the Peterites winning two.

For the Bambalapitiya school, Dineth Thimodya with 1000 runs including two centuries against D.S. Senanayake and Ananda and skipper Kavinda de Tissera (762 runs) also with two centuries and deputy Janith Liyanage (763) with a hundred have done the bulk of the scoring. Among the bowlers, Sahan Nanayakkara has captured over 85 wickets with his left-arm leg-spin and ably supported by off-spinner Vini Mohotty who has taken 42 wickets. Vice Captain Janith Liyanage, besides his batting, has taken over 30 wickets with his medium pace.

Courtesy: Ranjan Anandappa – Sunday Observer.

For the Joes skipper Dylan Fernandopulle has been the highest scorer (659) with a top-score of 90. Middle order batsman Pathum Madusanaka is their sole centurion (107). St.Joseph's were without the services of two of their key players Sadeera Samarawickrema and Priyamal Perera who were most of the time out with the under 19 team representing the country at the Under 19 Asia Cup and later the Under 19 World Cup. Both played in Dubai.

Priyamal Perera, in the seven matches he played for his school, has made 394 runs with four fifties and Samarawickrema in his seven matches, had scored 155 runs. Both, Samarawickrema and Perera will be available for their 'Big' encounter and their inclusion should make the Joes a stronger outfit while meeting their traditional rivals.. Joes bank on spinners The Joes will heavily depend on the spin of Aravinda Akurugoda who has taken over 40 wickets and Priyamal Perera with 26 wickets. Malshan Rodrigo and Hashindra Perera both with 29 wickets apiece should form an effective spin combination.

The highest individual score in the series is by former Peterite and Leicestershire professional Clive Inman who struck an unbeaten 204 in 1954. For the Joes, Hareen Silva scored an unbeaten 141 in the 2009 big match. Under the leadership of Kitto Fernandopulle in 1979, left hander Rohan Buultjens hit twin unbeaten hundreds (109 in the 1st innings and 100 n.o in the 2nd innings) a unique achievement difficult to surpass.

Josephian Shenal Warnakula holds the record for the best individual bowling effort. In the 1997 encounter Warnakula took 9 for 41, surpassing Peterite Dion Walles' 9 for 53 in 1947. Peterite Cyril Dias also took 9 for 64 wickets in an innings in 1933. Peterites Dinesh Kekulthota (8 for 16 in 1990) and Gerald Solomons also from Peter's had the bowling fiogures of 7 for 43 in the 1973 encounter. Besides Warnakula's 9 for 41, Rajive Benedict 8 for 6 in 1972 and Ranjith Malawana 8 for 57 in 1957 are notable bowling performances for the Josephians.

St. Peter's College Team – 2014 Captain: Kavinda de Tissera
Kavinda de Tissera (Captain), Janith Liyanage (V.Captain), Chemila Obeysekera, Sahan Nanayakkara, Dineth Thimodya, Hashan Upendra, Oshan Karunaratne, (WK), Sanjula Madushan, Naveen Dharshana, Sachin Dalpadado, Thanishka Weerakoon, Chadula Jayamanne, Savin Gunasekera, Dedulana Medis, Manelka de Silva, Vinu Mohaotty, Lakshina Rodrigo.






St. Joseph's College – 2014 Captain: Dylan Fernandopulle
Dylan Fernandopulle (Captain), Priyamal Perera, (U.C) Sadeera Samarawickrema, Duran de Alwis, Nirvana Abeysekera, Yashan Samarasinghe, Pathum Madusanka, Fabian Fernando, Trishan Thanuja, Aravinda Akurugoda, Shamii Seneviratne, Hasindra Perera, Kalpa Ravihara, Malshan Rodrigo, Brian Jayamanne, Sandaruwan Rodrigo and Vimukthi Peiris.


Comments Off on 80th Josephian-Peterite Encounter on March 7th & 8th, 2014, at the Colombo Oval



Breaking News: Watch Big Match on your computer from anywhere in the world

Posted on 05 March 2014 by admin

Comments Off on Breaking News: Watch Big Match on your computer from anywhere in the world

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: