Archive | February, 2018

86th Prize Giving - St. Peter's College


86th Prize Giving – St. Peter’s College

Posted on 21 February 2018 by admin

The 86th Prize Giving was held at St. Peter's yesterday (20th February 2018) with a distinguished Old Boy, Mr. Ashantha Timothy Andradi as the Chief Guest.

After the welcome ceremony Mr. Andradi, his wife Kirtida and son Kirshan were conducted by Fr. Rector, accompanied by distinguished Old Boy invitees, to light the traditional oil lamp. Once the distinguished guests had taken their seats on the stage, Fr. Rector officially welcomed the Chief Guest and read the Prize Day Report in which he emphasised on excellence and action taken by St. Peter's in pursuit of excellence, while also highlighting special achievements of some of the students as well as achievements by College in studies, sports and other extra and co-curricular activities.

In his address, the Chief Guest recalled his own memories of his student days at St. Peter's and the importance of the Prize Day. While congratulating the prize winners he also made it a point to thank the teachers who he emphasised were contributing immensely towards the development of the students.

After the conclusion of the speeches the distribution of prizes took place and at the conclusion of the Prize Giving, the Chief Guest and all the special invitees were treated to refreshments at the Sr. Flora Hall.

Departing from tradition, a special feature of this year's Prize Day, was a grand dinner at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel for the Priests and senior staff of College hosted by the Chief Guest, Mr. Ashantha Andradi. In addition to the teachers, some of Mr. Andradi's classmates had also been invited for this event.

After a prayer by Fr. Chrispin Leo, Mr. Ashantha Andradi welcomed and re-emphasised the role played by teachers in moulding the character of students in addition to imparting knowledge and recalled his own student days and the guidance received back then from priests and teachers. He singled out Fr. Chris Abeyratne as an example of such priests who helped in no small measure to guide and correct many of the schoolmates in the days gone by. He concluded his speech by proposing a toast to the teachers.

This grand event next saw Fr. Rector thanking Mr. Andradi not only for the dinner he was hosting but also for the magnanimous gift of a library which he said was known to be the largest donation by an Old Boy to any school in Sri Lanka. He thereafter proposed a toast to the success of all of Mr. Andradi's affairs and presented a memento to him. Ms. Imogen Mel proposing the vote of thanks on behalf of the teaching staff thanked Mr. Andradi profusely for hosting such an event specially for the teachers, stressing that it had never happened prior to this and it was obvious she spoke from her heart.

The teachers and the guests had a great time at this well organised event with music provided by Rajitha and Misty with "Thattaya", Ronnie Lietch also joining in.

(Pending the receipt of any official photos, we publish the few amateurish photos that were taken with a telephone camera)

Comments Off on 86th Prize Giving – St. Peter’s College


St. Peter’s College had a blockbuster cricket team in 1957

Posted on 02 February 2018 by admin

SPC CRICKET 1957The Peterites had a blockbuster team in 1957, led by a astute skipper – Jayantha Fernando who also captained St. Peter's in rugby. David Muthumani and Nihal Wijesena were the regular openers while fiery Darrel de Silva came in at No.3. I still remember how Darrel lifted the opening attacks of many a school right over the scorebaord and into the Wellawatta Canal. Skipper Jayantha Fernando and Brian Seneviratne were Nos.4 & 5 followed by Russel Duckworth, burly Lakshman Serasinghe, Premasiri Athukorale, Christie Marthalingam (wicket-keeper), Anton Paul Pillai and Anton Perera. Anton was consdidered the fastest bowler in school cricket in the late 50s. The Peterites had a terrific opening attack with with the two Anton's – Perera and Paul Pillai. Lakshman Serasinghe too bowled medium pace and was quite effective with the new bal.

Joe-Pete Big Match in 1957 was a high-scoring game that ended in a tame draw. This was the year that Kirthie Caldera, Wicket-Keeper skipper of the Joes was unfortunate to get out at 99 runs thus been deprived of a well deserved century.

Scores: Match Drawn
SJC – 298 (K. Caldera, 99, Carlyle Perera, 77, and Emilton Fernando, 53.
SPC – 192 (P. Athukorale, 85 and 246 all out (Darrel de Silva, 59, Skipper Jayantha Fernando, 81, P. Athukorale, 52.
Bowling: Ranjit Malawana (SJC) bagged 8 wickets for 57 runs in the 1st innings of the Peterites. Priya Perera took 4 for 73 in the Peterite 2nd innings. For the Peterites, fresher Anton Perera 3 for 69 and Russel Duckworth 3 for 41 were the pick of the bowlers.

1957 was the year that saw the baptism of two great Peterite cricketers. One was young Anton Perera who turned out to be one of the fastest schoolboy bowlers at the time. Anton and his wife Marlene (SPC Primary teacher) immigrated to Los Angeles in 1961 and Anton passed away due to complicated medical issues a few years back. Anton is a cousin of Peterite skipper Travice Fernando and his brothers Lyn, Imbre and Mervyn. The second star was Premasiri Athukorale another phenomenon at the time. A naturally talented batsman, Athu had a terrific run at the big match in 1957 (85 & 52), 1958 (89).

Update of the 1957 team: Anton Paul Pillai lives in Pennsylvania in the U.S., Lakshman Serasinghe, Randy Layman, Mitchell Rabot are domiciled in Australia. Christie Marthalingam lives in Calgary, Alberta in Canada. Russel Duckworth lives in U.K. 
Jayantha Fernando, Darrel de Silva, Nihal Wijesena, Brian Seneviratne, Premasiri Athukorale, are no longer with us and their demise is recorded in Sri Lanka. David Muthumani and Roy Dissanayake passed away in Toronto, Canada. Anton Perera passed away in San Fernando Valley, California.

St. Peter’s College 1st XI Cricket 1957. Jayantha Fernando (Captain), Lakshman Serasinghe (Vice Captain), Darrel De Silva, David Muthumani, Nihal Wijesena, Anton Paul Pillai, Brian Seneviratne, Premasiri Athukorale, Christie Marthalingam, Russell Duckworth, Nihal Ranasinghe, Mitchell Rabot, Roy Dissanayake, S. Davoodbhoy, Randy Layman, N. Lutersz and Anton Perera.

Comments Off on St. Peter’s College had a blockbuster cricket team in 1957

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: