FLASHBACK: Celebrating Josephian cricket achievements

Posted on 01 November 2017 by admin

October 2014 – The Josephians took an evening off to celebrate their recent success and felicitated five of their brightest stars that illuminated the entire Lankan skies.

The proud Josephian team

The event took place at the Water’s Edge.

Josephian cricket stars felicitated

Rev. Fr. Travis Gabriel – Rector, Sports Council and Cricket Advisory Committee of St. Joseph’s College felicitated Josephian cricket stars who are currently representing Sri Lanka’s National Team in a glamorous event that was held at Waters Edge on 15 October. Sri Lankan Cricket Captain Angelo Mathews, all rounder Thisara Perera, opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne and fast bowling coach Chaminda Vaas were the proud recipients of the awards of excellence for their respective contribution in the recently-concluded successful tour in England where Sri Lanka won the series in all forms of the game, namely test, one day and T20. Master Sadeera Samarawickrama, the Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2014 and Sri Lanka Youth team player, was also recognised for his great achievements and for being the sixth Josephian Schoolboy Cricketer in the history of St. Joseph’s Cricket.

The event, which was sponsored by Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation (SLIC), was very well attended. Former Sri Lankan Cricket Captains Michael Tissera, Anura Tennekoon, Arjuna Ranatunga, Aravinda De Silva, Marvan Atapattu and Mahela Jayawardene. Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation CEO Deepthi Lokuarachchi, senior officials of the Sri Lanka Cricket Nishantha Ranatunga, Ashley De Silva and Carlton Bernadus and current Sri Lankan Test Cricketer Kaushal Silva were among the distinguished invitees. The keynote address was given by Mahela Jayawardene whilst former Josephian Cricket Captain (1989) Prasann Leanage spoke about the cricketing careers of the Josephian stars during their respective school days.

Former Josephian Cricket Captain (1969) and Current Chairman of the Sports Council, Brian Obeyesekere, gave the welcome address whilst Viran Perera, the Josephian Cricket Captain in 1991, delivered the vote of thanks. St. Joseph’s College Rector Rev. Fr. Travis Gabriel also addressed the large gathering, who will no doubt cherish the memories of one of the greatest felicitation ceremonies ever had by St. Joseph’s College.  

The five cricketers were – the present National cricket captain Angelo Mathews, the mercurial allrounder Thisara Perera, Test opening batsman Dimuth Karunarathne, the Sunday Times Bata Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Sadeera Samarawickrama and Chaminda Vaas – the present national bowling coach and the best exponent of seam bowling that Sri Lanka ever produced.

Heading the proceedings of the night was Rev Fr. Travis Gabriel along with a host of distinguished old boys and celebrities within and outside the boundary line.

Angelo Mathews, St. Joseph’s cricket captain of 2006, is the first ever Josephian to captain Sri Lanka. He has let his performance do the talking during the last two years, and has shown that he is indeed a tough character who has always “led from the front.” He is also Sri Lanka’s youngest cricket captain and currently holds the second best test cricket batting average of 86.93 (as a captain) next to the legendary Sir Don Bradman.


The national fast bowling coach Chaminda Vaas receives his memento

from Brian Obeysekera who captained St. Joseph’s in 1969


The national cricket captain Angelo Mathews receives his award

from the Rector St. Joseph’s Rev Fr. Travis Gabriel


The mercurial Lankan allrounder Thisara Perera is felicitated

by Deepthi Lokuarachchi – CEO Sri Lanka Insurance


The Lankan Test opener Dimuth Karunaratne receives a token of appreciation

from Chrishantha Fernando – the oldest living Josephian captain. He captained St. Joseph’s in 1954


The World Cup winning Sri Lankan captain Arjuna Ranatunga

chatting up with his 1994 national team mate Chaminda Vaas


The Sunday Times-Bata Schoolboy cricketer of the year is felicitated by the first Josephian Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year –

Raja de Silva who was recognised in 1961. He captained St. Joseph’s that y

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: