Categorized | Headline, Sports

St. Peter’s win school’s T20 championship

Posted on 09 April 2016 by admin



St Peter's Team

St. Peter’s College won the Singer U19 schools T20 championship when they recorded an easy 38-run win over St. Aloysius’ Galle in the final played at Galle International Cricket Stadium on Friday.St. Peter’s, whose skipper Vinu Mohotti won the toss and elected to take first lease of the wicket, put up a formidable and challenging score of 162 for 8. The Peterites innings came on the back of two valuable partnerships after they had lost two wickets with the score on 37. The first partnership was for the third wicket that of 38 runs between Chandula Jayamanne who made a top score of 49 runs and Lakshina Rodrigo which was followed by a 41-run stand for the sixth wicket between skipper Mohotti and Ranmith Jayasena.

Giant-killers St. Aloysius’ who earlier defeated Isipathana College, S. Thomas’ College and Trinity College to qualify for the final, in their run chase were unable to do the same against St. Peter’s.

They fell into deep trouble when they lost their top three wickets with just one run on the board in only 1.3 overs. Taneesha Weerakoon made the early breakthrough before top scorer Jayamanne in his first over grabbed two wickets and then followed it with another in his next over.

The Aloysians made a brief recovery through a 46-run stand for the fifth wicket between Navindu Nirmal and Hareen Buddila but they faltered again losing two more wickets for the addition of ten runs and were struggling on 76 for 7.

A brief stand of 24 runs between Sajith Sankalpa and skipper Gihan Niroshan was not going to be sufficient as they were badly placed on 100 for 8 in the 18th over before being restricted to a score of 124.

Chandula who did the early damage ended with top figures of 3 for 24 while Taneesha Weerakoon and Chemila Obeysekera shared four wickets between them.

St. Peter’s 162 for 8 in 20 overs (Chandula Jayamanne 49, Vinu Mohotti 40, Ranmith Jayasena 17: Prabodha Madusanka 4 for 24)

St. Aloysius’ Galle 124 for 8 in 20 overs (Navindu Nirmal 36, Hareen Buddila 19, Gihan Niroshan 27 n.o.: Chandula Jayamanne 3 for 24, Chemila Obeysekera 2 for 13, Taneesha Weerakoon 2 for 18)

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: