Categorized | Sports

St.Joseph’s – St.Peter’s clash for Rev. Fr. Maurice LeGoc Trophy

Posted on 04 March 2015 by admin

Joe-Pete 2015 Joe-Pete Teams 2015Battle of the Saints – The rivalry continues

Courtesy: Thushan Jayasuriya – Daily News


St Peter’s College: Seated (from left): Kitto Fernandopulle (Assistant coach), Shanaka Fernando (Assistant coach), Sanath Chinthaka (Senior Masterin- Charge), Troy Bartler (Sports Secretary), Chandula Jayamanne (captain), Rev Fr Trevor Martin (Rector), Rev Fr Sharm Dassanayake (Sports Coordinator), Dineth Thimodya (vice captain), Kirthi Gunaratne (Head Coach), Wasantha Haputhanthri (Junior Master-in-Charge), Mahesh de Silva (Manager).Standing from left – 1st row: Didulana Mendis, Oshan Karunaratne, Thaneesh

St Joseph’s College: Seated from left to right: Aravinda Akurugoda, Prasantha Ranaweera (Master-in-Charge), Asela Pathirana (Coach), Rev Fr Milan Bernard (Prefect of the Game), Pethum Madushanka (captain), Rev Fr Travis Gabriel (Rector), Michael Adams (Assistant Coach), Priyantha Cooray (Masterin- Charge – 2nd XI), Anura Tennekoon (Director Cricket), Hashindra Perera (vice captain).Standing (Middle row): From left to right – 1st row: Shevon Fonseka, Kevin Corteling, Brian Jayamanna, Nipun Sumanasinghe, Nera


Arch-rivals St.Joseph's College and St.Peter's College will vie for the honours when they confront each other at the 81st Battle of the Saints at P.Sara Oval on March 6 and 7 at P.Sara Oval Colombo.

The teams compete for the Rev. Fr. Maurice LeGoc Trophy, named after the tournament's founder. During the past 80 matches, St. Joseph's college have recorded 12 wins, while the Peterites have registered nine wins. A total of 59 matches have ended up with no result for either team. In 2008 St. Joseph's college won the match under the leadership of Ruwantha Fernandopulle, which ended a 35 year draught, and in 2012 St. Peter's won the match after 32 years under the leadership of Shehan Fernando.

The Peterites have really proved themselves and have turned out to be a formidable outfit having notched up seven outright victories against Nalanda, Maris Stella, Wesley, Royal Colombo, Trinity, Dharmasoka and St.Anthony's Kandy out of the 16 matches played during the current season.

The Peterite squad will be spearheaded by Chandula Jayamanne who has scored a total of 443 runs and captured 16 wickets. Dineth Thimodya (767), Lakshina Rodrigo (704), Didulana Medis (655), Hashan Wanigasekera (564) and Sachin Dalpattado (505), have been in extraordinary form this season for the Bambalapitiya school. Taneesha Weerakoon (65 wickets), Vinu Mohotti (57 wickets), Ashanth Malka (51 wickets) have been combining well to prop the Peterites bowling.

The Josephians in the other hand have also registered outright wins over Maris Stella, Wesley, St.Anthony's Kandy while bagging first innings honours over Mahinda, St.Sebastian's Moratuwa, Royal Colombo, Moratu Vidyalaya and De Mazenod.

The side is captained by fifth year coloursman Pathum Madusanka who is one of their top batsmen having made some significant contributions throughout the season. He has emerged as a genuine match winner and has compiled over 750 runs.

The Josephian batting line up will be powered by Sandaruwan Rodrigo (434 runs), Jehan Daniel (385 runs) and Aravinda Akurugoda (332 runs) while they will strive to get the maximum out of the bowling ability of Akurugoda (52 wickets), Hashindra Perera (31 wickets), Harin Cooray (26 wickets) and Daniel (25 wickets) The highest score was recorded by St Joseph's college, which is 382, made back in 1982, led by Ken Serpanchy, while St. Peter's college best being 345 for 9 in 1938 under Percy Perera. The lowest scores made by the two sides are -St Joseph's College 56 in 1938, and St Peter's College 36 in 1972.

Clive Inman (SPC) records as the highest scorer an individual has scored which is 204 in 1954. Shenal Warnakula of St. Joseph's College holds the record as the most successful bowler in terms of wickets -taking 9 wickets for 41 in 1997.

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: