Categorized | Sports, Sunday Observer

Tags |

Josephians beat Peterites by 91 runs in one-day game

Posted on 20 March 2014 by admin

St Joseph’s College beat St Peter’s College by 91 runs in the one-day encounter, which was played at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo yesterday.

Batting first, the Josephians made 224-8 in 50 overs with the help of two half centuries by Duran de Alwis (52) and Pathum Madusanka (50). The pair steadied the innings putting on a 98-run partnership for the third wicket after Sadeera Samarawickrama was dismissed for 25 with the total reading 47.

Fabian Fernando’s late flurry of runs included a 39-ball, 37 with three sixes.

Chasing 225-runs to win, the Peterites were restricted for 133 as the Josephian bowling spearheaded by Hashindra Perera claiming four wickets for 23 runs.

Paceman Fabian Fernando removed the first three Peterite batsmen to have the Peterites in a spot of bother with 12 runs on the board. Aravinda Akurugoda, the right arm leg-spinner, bowled an economical spell giving away only 10 runs with three maiden overs in his eight-over spell. Akurugoda trapped Malka Ashan leg before for nought.


St Joseph’s College
D Alwis b S Nanayakkara 52
D Fernandopulle lbw b Liyanage 00
S Samarawickrama b Obeyesekere 25
P Madusanka st O Nanayakkara b S Nanayakkara 50
P Perera c Ashan b Liyanage 22
Y Samarasinghe run out 03
F Fernando b Obeyesekere 37
K Ravihara run out 06
A Akurugoda not out 06
H Perera not out 01
Extras (1b, 6lb, 15w) 22
TOTAL (8 wickets; 50 overs) 224

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Fernandopulle), 2-47 (Samarawickrama)
3-145 (Madushanka), 4-148 (De Alwis)
5-159 (Samarasinghe), 6-185 (P Perera)
7-199 (Ravihara), 8-214 (Fernando)
Bowling: C Obeyesekere 10-1-26-2
J Liyanage 10-0-59-2
N Dharshana 5-0-34-0
S Nanayakkara 10-0-45-2
D Thimodya 7-0-23-0
M Ashanth 7-1-26-0
C Jayamanna 1-0-5-0

St Peter’s College
D Thimodya b Fernando 00
O Karunaratne b Rodrigo 36
J Liyanage b Fernando 04
C Jayamanna c Hasintha b Fernando 06
K de Tissera c Rodrigo b A Perera 28
M de Silva run out 32
S Dalpadadu c Madusanka b H Perera 03
C Obeyesekere not out 10
S Nanayakkara c Akurugoda b H Perera 04
M Ashanth lbw Akurugoda 00
N Dharshana c Fernando b H Perera 00
Extras (2b, 2lb, 6w) 10
TOTAL (all out; 41.4 overs) 133

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Thomodya), 2-4 (Liyanage), 3-12 (Jayamanna)
4-60 (Karunaratne), 5-114 (De Tissera)
6-114 (De Silva), 7-123 (Dalpadadu)
8-128 (Nanayakkara), 9-130 (Ashantha)
10-133 (Dharshana)
Bowling: F Fernando 6-0-25-3
D de Alwis 4-1-25-0
Y Samarasinghe 7-0-24-0
M Rodrigo 4-1-17-1
H Perera 9.4-1-23-4
A Akurugoda 8-3-10-1
P Madushanka 3-0-5-0
Scorers: D N Pathirana (St Peter’s) and Cyril Nicholas (St Joseph’s).

Courtesy: Sunday Observer

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: