Categorized | Flashback

FLASHBACK: Led by Adiel Anghie, Peterites star studded team in 1961

Posted on 28 February 2014 by admin

SPC 1961 TeamThe Peterite XI of 1961 had many stars. The team was led by Adiel Anghie (Retired Pulmonologist USA), who had the enviable honour of captaining both the college cricket team as well as the rugby team. Let's put some names to the players on this picture. Within brackets is where they live, as far we are aware presently. David Heyn went on to play for Ceylon/Sri Lanka from 1966 to 1976 and captained his school in 1964. Others who captained SPC are Richard Heyn (1962), Tyrone Le Mercier (1963) and Travis Fernando (1965). Sadly, we have lost Maurice Deckker, Sam Rajah, Didacus de Almeida and Richard Alles, who have gone beyond.

Standing – L to R: Tissa Jayaweera (Australia), David Heyn (UK), Travis Fernando (SL), Rohan Abeysundera, Sam Rajah (deceased), Adithiya de Silva, Maurice Deckker (deceased) Seated – L to R: Tyrone Le Mercier (Australia), Richard Alles (deceased), Adiel Anghie (USA), Richard Heyn (USA) and Didacus de Almeida (deceased).

1961 Joe-Pete Encounter – was played at St. Peter's College Grounds on March 17th/18th. SPC – 230/9 wkts decl. SJC – 109 and 140/8 wktsMatch Drawn.

Peterite skipper Adiel Anghie won the toss and went into bat against Josephian openers Brian Perumal and L. Rasanayagam. Adiel Anghie (101) wrote himself into record books by scoring a magnificent century to help the Peterite score 230 runs for 9 wkts declared. Richard Alles, 39 – Didacus de Almeida 24 n.o. added to the score. Lalith Rasanayagam – 3/29 and Raja de Silva 3/61 shared the bowling honours.

The Josephians led by Raja de Silva were shot out for 109 runs with Travis Fernando – 3/26 and Tyrone Le Mercier 2/28 bowling best for the Peterites. Put into bat for a second time, the Josephians fared slightly better and managed to stave off a certain defeat by scoring 140 for the loss of 8 wickets at close. Didacus de Almeida with his leg spinners took 4 for 51.


230 for 9 declared


109 All Out


140 FOR 8 WKTS

Richard Alles – 39 Hillary Marcelline – 03 02 For SJC
Sam Rajah – 05 P. Fernandopulle – 01 05 L. Rasanayagam – 3/29
Adiel Anghie (Capt.) – 101 Placidus Liyanage – 13 33 Raja de Silva 3/61
Richard Heyn – 16 Raja de Silva (Capt.) – 34 63 For SPC
David Heyn – 03 L. Rasanayagam – 07 01 Travis Fernando 3/26
Tissa Jayaweera – 10 Rohan Buultjens – 04 03 n.o. Tyrone Le Mercier 2 for 28
Tyrone Le Mercier – 01 Brian Perumal – 15 14 n.o. For SPC 2ND
Maurice Deckker – 17 Victor Wickramasinghe – 05 04 Didacus de Almeida 4/51
Didacus de Almeida – Not Out 24 Wilhelm de Zilva – 11 10  
Travis Fernando – 00 Brian Buultjens – 00 02  
Rohan Abeysundera – Did not bat Percy Mendis – 00    


Comments are closed.

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: