Tag Archive | "BENS T20 CHAMPS"


St. Peter’s beaten: Bens crowned Under 19 Schools Twenty20 champions

Posted on 09 April 2015 by admin

SBC Team 2015St. Benedict’s College won the Schools T20 crown 2015 when they defeated St. Peter’s College by 22 runs in the final played at R. Premadasa Stadium on Thursday.

The Benedictine skipper Mahel Jayalath won the toss and elected to bat. The left-handed Mahela and his opening partner Thulina Dilshan got their team off to a flying start as they stroked 71 runs for the first wicket in just 7.1 overs to set the tone.

Thulina made his knock of 45 in just 20 deliveries. The Bens innings fell apart when spin was introduced by the Peterite skipper Chandula Jayamanne.

Left-arm spinner Ashanth Malka wrecked through the Benedictine batting line up taking 5 wickets for just 15 runs. Right-arm off spinner Savin Gunasekara captured 3 wickets as St. Benedict’s were bowled out for 114 in the 20th over after being 71 for no loss at one stage.

St. Peter’s chasing a modest target of 115 runs to win the trophy lost their first 7 wickets for just 20 runs on the board after completion of only 4.4 overs. Right-arm fast-bowler Geethika Fernando was the chief wrecker taking 4 wickets.

After being 20/7, wicket-keeper batsman Lakshina Rodrigo and all-rounder Taneesha Weerakoon constructed a 58-run stand for the 8th wicket in 60 balls but could not take their team over the winning line as the Benedictine bowlers won them the game in the 18th over.

Right-arm off break bowler Madushan Kularathne scalped 2 wickets as well. Lakshina took only 33 balls for his 39 while Taneesha consumed 40 balls for his 25 unbeaten runs. The Peterite innings ended with 92 runs on the board.


Chief Scores:

St. Benedicts College – 114 all out in 19.3 overs: Thulina Dilshan 45, Mahel Jayalath 24, Ashanth Malka 5/15, Savin Gunasekara 3/23.

St. Peters College – 92 all out in 17.3 overs: Lakshina Rodrigo 39, Taneesha Weerakoon 25*, Geethal Fernando 4/18, Madushan Kularathne 2/7.

S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia clinched the 3rd place beating Lumbini College by 46 runs earlier in the day. Left-handed Nipuna Gamage smashed a stunning 73 runs unbeaten for the winners while Sachitha Jayathilake did the trick with the ball taking 6 wickets from his right-arm leg break deliveries for the school by the sea.


Comments Off on St. Peter’s beaten: Bens crowned Under 19 Schools Twenty20 champions

Advertise Here
Advertise Here
%d bloggers like this: